

## UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH / DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY

2014 DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARD CELEBRATION

SEPTEMBER 19, 2014 CHEVRON SCIENCE CENTER





George W. Luther, III (PhD 1972) received his PhD in Physical-Inorganic Chemistry in 1972, working in Dr. James C. Carter's group. At Kean College of New Jersey, as Chair he led the department in achieving ACS accreditation. His research focus is marine chemistry. He developed real time sensors to measure chemical species in ocean waters and sediments and he has promoted the importance of natural nanoparticles, including those released from hydrothermal vents in the ocean interior. George is the Maxwell P. and Mildred H. Harrington Professor of Marine Chemistry in the School of Marine Science and Policy at the University of Delaware.



Nancy McKeever Targett (BS 1972) received her BS in Chemistry and Biology in 1972, with Dr. David Pratt as her advisor. She completed her MS in Marine Science from the University of Miami and she earned her PhD in Oceanography in 1980 from the University of Maine. Her research interests are in marine chemical ecology and she is committed to innovation in higher education, with an emphasis on ocean science studies. Nancy is a professor and the Dean of the University of Delaware College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment, and she is the Director of the Delaware Sea Grant College Program.



Jayendran C. Rasaiah (PhD 1965) earned his PhD in 1966 under the direction of Dr. Henry S. Frank. He was elected Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2006 and has been recognized for his pioneering contributions to fundamental electrolyte theory, the thermodynamics of polar fluids, and the transport of ions in polar solvents. Most noteworthy is his work with Gerhard Hummer on water conduction through carbon nanotubes. Jay has held visiting appointments as a Science Research Council (SRC) fellow at Oxford University, at the Australian National University and the Royal Military College in Australia and with NIST and NIH. He is a Professor of Chemistry and a Cooperating Professor of Physics at the University of Maine.



Jane N. Valenta (PhD 1994) completed her graduate studies in Chemistry under the direction of Dr. Stephen G. Weber, receiving an MS in 1986 and a PhD in 1994. She has been awarded 11 patents during her academic and professional career, including "Method of Conducting a Non-Instrumental Test to Determine Catalyst Presence", as co-inventor with Professor Weber. Jane has served as associate director of performance coatings at PPG's Coatings Innovation Center. She is vice president, environment, health and safety for PPG Industries and is responsible for all EHS functions including environmental affairs, product stewardship, health, safety, compliance assurance, corporate medical and PPG's corporate sustainability efforts.



James J. Valentini (BS 1972) earned his BS in Chemistry in 1972. He completed his MS in Chemistry at the University of Chicago, and his PhD in Chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley; his research interests are in chemical reaction dynamics. Before moving to Columbia College, New York, he held a postdoctoral appointment at Los Alamos National Laboratory and was a professor of chemistry at UC Irvine. James is Dean of the College and Vice President of Undergraduate Education at Columbia College. As chief academic and executive officer, his central focus is to promote the best college experience for students and faculty.

2000
Margaret Cavanaugh (BS 1968; MS 1969)
Paul Lauterbur (PhD 1962)
Alfred Moyé (PhD 1968)
Allen Roses (BS 1963)
David Rossi (BS 1979)
Michael Strem (PhD 1964)
W. Edward Wallace (PhD 1941)

2002 Mary Catherine Mancini (BS 1974) Muttaiya Sundaralingam (PhD 1961) Irving Wender (PhD 1950)

2004
Dennis Kleid (PhD 1972)
Geraldine Sowinski Pinkus (BS 1961)
L. Dennis McKeever (BS 1962)
J. Matthew Simon (PhD 1969)

2006
G. Michael Deeb, MD (BS 1971)
Sharon Marion D'Orsie (BS 1969)
Joseph A. Gardella, Jr. (PhD 1981)
Frederick S. Humphries (PhD 1964)
Costas G. Karakatsanis (BS 1974; PhD 1978)

2008
Susan Wilson Graham (PhD 1981)
Abul Hussam (PhD 1982)
Michael Grever (BS 1967)
Sung-Hou Kim (PhD 1966)

2010 Edward R. Biehl (BS 1958; PhD 1961) Helen M. Berman (PhD 1967) Bruce W. Dixon, MD (BS 1961) H. Lee Noble (BS 1962) 2012 Ben Askew (PhD 1988) Rich Colton (BS 1970; PhD 1976) Nadrian C. Seeman (PhD 1970)